Skip to main content

Trump Admin Gives UK Guidance on Who Isn’t Affected by Immigration Ban


The executive order restricting immigration that President Trump passed on Friday has led to significant confusion regarding who it does and does not affect. Courts have already gotten involved and chipped away at what was at first an extremely broad restriction that was affecting immigrants who already had had visas granted to them.

The Trump administration has now taken steps to clear up some of the confusion, giving the United Kingdom some guidance as to who is not affected by the order. A statement on the UK Foreign Office’s website says that a conversation between Trump and UK Foreign Secretary Boris Johnson straightened out some issues regarding the part of the order that bans immigration from seven Muslim countries (Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen) for 90 days.

According to the statement, the ban does not apply to:

  • People traveling to the U.S. from other countries
  • Nationals from other countries, like the UK, who are traveling out of the seven named countries to the U.S., even if they were born in one of those countries
  • Travelers who are citizens of one of the countries who also have dual citizenship somewhere else, who are not traveling from one of the listed countries.

The statement says that under the order, people with dual citizenship with one of the listed countries “might have extra checks” if they are traveling to the U.S. from one of those countries.

[Image of Donald Trump via screengrab; image of Boris Johnson via Shutterstock]

Have a tip we should know? [email protected]

Filed Under:

Follow Law&Crime: